Lewis Kaplan


Full 6 Week Session

Co-founder of the Bowdoin International Music Festival; Faculty, The Juilliard School, Mannes College of Music

Co-founder of the Bowdoin International Music Festival. Artistic Director of the Festival from 1964 and Director as well from 1975 until 2014. Violin and Chamber Music Faculties, The Juilliard School; Violin Faculty, Mannes College of Music; Visiting Professor, The Royal College of Music, London; Honorary Professor, Xi’an Conservatory of Music, China.

Former students include Yo-Yo Ma, Emanuel Ax, Pinchas Zukerman, Kyung Wha Chung, Tracy Silverman, Renee Jolles, as well as numerous concertmasters and string quartet members.

Knighted by the President of Germany, Knight’s Cross of the Order of Merit. Holder of The William Schuman Chair at The Juilliard School. Named among the Top 100 Musicians of the Year, International Biographical Centre, Cambridge, England.

Founder/violinist, The Aeolian Chamber Players 1961-. Tours in the United States as well as in Europe. Recordings for Columbia Records {nominated for a Grammy Award}, CRI, and Odyssey.

Conducting appearances and chamber music concerts with Michael Rabin, Emanuel Ax, Yefim Bronfman, Jaime Laredo, Richard Goode, Sarah Chang and other noted artists. Premiered more than 100 works including two by George Crumb, three by Ralph Shapey, two by George Rochberg, Samuel Adler, Milton Babbitt, Mario Davidovsky, Huang Ruo, Sebastian Currier.

Masterclasses annually at most of the major music centers in Europe and Asia, including the Mozarteum Summer Academy in Salzburg, Austria 1987-2008.

Bachelors and Masters degrees from The Juilliard School. Violin studies with Ivan Galamian with whom he taught jointly at Juilliard 1976-1981, and conducting studies with Jean Morel. Conducting performances in the United States, Europe, and Asia. Artistic Director/Conductor The Bowdoin Festival Orchestra 1965-2014.

Violin jury of many international competitions including Queen Elisabeth, Brussels [3 times]; Japan International and Sendai Competitions, Japan; Joachim Competition, Hanover; Mozart Competition, Salzburg; Naumburg Competition, New York; Fritz Kreisler Competition, Vienna, Henryk Szeryng International Competition, Monaco.